Princeton Girlchoir
(United States)

Founded in 1989 as an after-school activity for girls interested in choral music, Princeton Girlchoir, a program of Westrick Music Academy, is comprised of seven choirs made up of girls from 3rd through 12th grade, drawing singers together from over 75 schools in Central New Jersey and Bucks County. While honing their musicianship, choristers begin life-long friendships, enjoy professional performance opportunities, and travel the world. New members are selected each year by audition and are reassessed annually to determine their musical development and choir advancement. Throughout their weekly rehearsals, the choirs grow as a team and work together to create a beautiful ensemble sound. Princeton Girlchoir has been honored to perform in a wide array of venues for audiences both nationally and internationally. Notable performances include the North American premiere of Tan Dun’s Symphony 1997 with Yo-Yo Ma at Avery Fisher Hall in Lincoln Center; multiple appearances at Carnegie Hall; performances for dignitaries such as Hillary Clinton, Jeb Bush, Rush Holt, and Sandra Day O’Connor; performing the national anthem at several professional sporting events; and appearances at conferences of the American Choral Directors Association, Organization of American Kodály Educators, and NJ Music Educators Association.

Dr. Lynnel Joy Jenkins is Artistic Director of the Westrick Music Academy and choral teacher at the Timberlane Middle School of the Hopewell Valley Regional School District in Pennington, New Jersey. She is a choral music educator of international stature, having lectured and conducted in China, Hong Kong, Iceland, South Africa and Switzerland. Dr. Jenkins earned degrees from Westminster Choir College of Rider University (B.M.), Temple University (M.M.) and University of Arizona (D.M.A.) and was honored twice with the Elaine Brown Conducting Award.

Friday, July, 14 | 16h

Palácio Nacional da Ajuda


Selections from:

Jubilanten – Jan Magne Førde

Lift Thine Eyes from Elijah – Felix Mendelssohn
Tota pulchra es – Maurice Maurice
Ave Maria – Guy Forbes

Hope is the Thing with Feathers – Emma Lou Diemer
Seal Lullaby – Eric Whitacre
Flight Song – Kim André Arnesen

I Love You/What a Wonderful World – Craig, Hella Johnson (arr.)
Fire – Katerina Gimon
Where the Light Begins – Susan LaBarr
Until I Reach My Home  Brandon A. Boyd (arr.)

I Started Out Singing – Jocelyn Hagen
God Will Give Orders/Sweet Child – Sarah Quartel
Music Down in My Soul – Moses Hogan

Will the Circle Be Unbroken – J. David Moore (arr.)
Common Threads – Andrea Ramsey
The Lord Bless You and Keep You – John Rutter
In Meeting We Are Blessed – Troy Robertson
Bring Me Little Water, Silvy – Moira Smiley (arr.)