Orquestra de Sopros e Percussão do Conservatório Regional de Artes do Montijo

The Orquestra de Sopros e Percussão do Conservatório Regional de Artes do Montijo challenges itself in repertoires that intend to demonstrate to the public the excellent quality of its young performers. The sonorities brought to each concert extend through the most varied periods and different genres, making each concert a true celebration of music. This formation is based on the Ensemble Class subject attended by students of all classes of wind instruments and percussion. Currently composed of about 45 students, this Orchestra also contributes to the strengthening of ties of collaboration between the Conservatory and the socio-cultural environment where it belongs, helping to consolidate partnerships and other forms of collaboration with local entities in the region. Of particular note is the participation in editions of the “Festival ao Largo”, organised by the National Theatre of São Carlos, as well as the preparation of the cantata “Carmina Burana”, with the choir Lisboa Cantat, presented at the Olga Cadaval Cultural Centre in Sintra.

Pedro Rodrigues de Almeida is currently the teacher responsible for the Orquestra de Sopros e Percussão do Conservatório Regional de Artes do Montijo. He has attended several courses in Orchestra Conducting and, in 2014, was one of the students selected to participate in the “Conducting Weekend” – Orchestra Conducting Masterclass, offered by the Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, England). He integrated the Conducting Class of Maestro Jean-Sébastien Béreau and, in 2019, he was awarded with the City Council Medal of Merit in the area of Culture, “Palmela is Music” – Silver Grade, for the outstanding services rendered to the municipality of Palmela.

Saturday, July, 8 | 18h

Antigo Picadeiro Real – Museu Nacional dos Coches


João Domingos Bontempo (1775-1842), Pedro Ferreira (arr.): Portuguese March

Pedro Pires (1988-): Mare Clausum

Rob Romeyn (1961-): Zeus, King of Gods

Ferrer Ferran (1966-): Los Barbas

John Williams (1932-), Paul Lavender (arr.): The Symphonic Marches

Popular: Coletânea de Marchas de Lisboa